Flipping the Classroom

I recently read some articles on Flipping the Classroom (The Benefits of Flipping your Classroom, “I Don’t Like This One Little Bit.” Tales from a Flipped Classroom and Understanding the Flipped Classroom: Part 1 and Part 2) .

Until I read these I really thought this would work perfectly for me and maybe I was already doing this a bit, now I’m pretty sure I’m not.  Certainly not if it always involves homework.  I rarely assign homework. I allow for time in class for students to work on problems after instruction through lecture, demonstration/simulation or video.  Students often present how they completed them to the class.

This method would be easier in my College courses compared to Apprenticeship. Sometimes my students do not have Internet access or Smartphones.  I guess I can give students time at the library to view the resource.  I can post the resource on the Learn site but I would have to request Learn sites for Apprenticeship courses.

This method would be more effective in my Science courses compared to Math courses. Often short videos are used to explain concepts.  With this method I can spend the time discussing them.  Many of the trade specific problems completed in Math may not be in videos or audio files so I would have to create them.  I’m not a fan of being on video but I could use the PowerPoint slides that I have and record the audio (Thank-you Intro to Technology).  I do think that some of the content is available created for an Online Learning Course which I could inquire about using.  I am teaching a new higher level Apprenticeship course that I may try this out in.  This won’t work for all my lessons though I have some Math problems that take much longer than 10 minutes to explain.

One thought on “Flipping the Classroom

  1. It is interesting what happens when we have the language to go with what we were doing naturally, you were already flipping the class room and student centered learning. Now you have a reference to get you to further ideas. In this blog you come across as a natural teacher, assessing what your students need and will get them interested in learning the subject matter. Also following your instinct on how your teaching style maybe similar to those of your students, meaning that your learning style is reflected in your teaching style and so forth. I feel in the trades that certain intelligences will gravitate to the course or trade. So as a teacher/mentor, you already speak their language. Here is a great talk http://www.ted.com/talks/salman_khan_let_s_use_video_to_reinvent_education?language=en

    Like

Leave a Reply

